In a Faith-less Fog

It was a bit of a grey stretch in my life. You know, like walking through a persistent fog? I wouldn’t describe it as dark, but it certainly wasn’t a bright and colorful time either. My children, or most of them, had moved out. I felt like a failure as a mom. God had not shown up like I thought He should have. In fact, I couldn’t get much of a picture of God at all.

Was He there? Did He care? Was He even hearing my prayers?

Lost in the Fog

Some call it the dark night of the soul. A crisis of faith. I had been in a similar place before during my college years. This time it didn’t scare me. It would do no good to fight it. I knew in time the fog would lift and I’d see the sunshine again.

This is faith: a gift not from ourselves to God,

but from God to us. A grace gift. (Ephesians 2:8)

It’s like a seed planted deep, gone from view until the burial has accomplished the necessary. All it needs is water and patience. Faith isn’t the seed. It isn’t the water. Faith is the waiting for life to sprout through the darkness.

One mustn’t meddle, hyper-fertilize, or hover. You can’t plead, cheer, or lecture.

You wait.

You water. But not too much. You don’t parch it, but you also don’t flood it. Just a small daily dose is all that’s needed.

Even if it seems it’s doing no good, a person wading through the fog simply needs to take a good drink daily from God’s Word—or a devotional, song on the radio, or some encouragement from a friend. And then go on with life as you . . .

Wait.

You see . . .

Faith is possible becauseGod is faithful.

Trust in the Lord, and do good; Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.

(Psalm 37:3 NKJV)

What verse on God’s faithfulness would you share with someone in a faith-less fog? I’d love to hear it . . . and someone else might need to read it. Please share in the comments below.

Copyright April 2016 by Cheri Johnson

5 thoughts on “In a Faith-less Fog

  1. Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
    They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
    I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”
    -Lamentations 3:21-24

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH yes to these wise words –‘One mustn’t meddle, hyper-fertilize, or hover. You can’t plead, cheer, or lecture.’

    Sometimes we just need to keep walking, following His lead, giving grace to ourselves, and trusting that He knows the path we must go.

    And that He’ll never ever leave us alone in the process …

    So good to meet you today at Holley’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

