The Mothering Heart of God

In Minnesota the month of May welcomes the return of vivid color to our world on blooming trees and in spring flowers. It warms our skin for the first time in several months through celebrated sunrays. In our family it holds celebrations of birthdays, and contains the day when mothers are singled-out for honor.

As I blogged this past month, I’ve gained fresh insight about mothering. Important stuff, like …

Mothers must be learners
SAFE kids are more than a bundle of misbehaviors
Grandkids remind us of God’s love for us – not based on performance or achievement, but on simply being.

As we head into June I plan to blog about fathering. But today, being the last day of the month, I’d like to tie the two together in the personhood of God.

The Bible never represents God as mother – only as our heavenly Father. We can find many wonderful characteristics of God as we study Him as our Father. If that is so, then how do we learn to mother according to God’s heart?

There are many references in the Bible that hint at motherly characteristic of God.

As a mother comforts her child, so will I comfort you … (Isaiah 66:13 NIV).

When Israel was a child, I loved him … It was I who taught Ephraim to walk, taking them by the arms … I led them with cords of human kindness, with ties of love. To them I was like one who lifts a little child to the cheek, and I bent down to feed them (Hosea 11:1-4 NIV).

Jesus Himself revealed his own maternal heart when he cried,

“Jerusalem, Jerusalem, … how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, …” (Matthew 23:37 NIV).

The most significant revelation to me is from Genesis 1:27.

So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them (NKJV).

If female humans are created in God’s image – and they are – then we women embody a part of God’s character that is just as significant as what our male counterparts offer.

What am I trying to say here? I think we women struggle greatly with our identities. We question our value often. I want to gently scream in your face,

“You reflect a part of God’s heart that only you can reveal!”

As mothers we have a divine privilege of presenting God to our children in a way no one else on earth can do.

Moms Reflect God's Heart

I hesitate to give examples because in our home I was the “bad cop,” and my husband the “good cop.” I was reactionary, and he was patient.

Sometimes, we have to do a little digging into our personalities to discover how we express the mothering part of God’s heart. But if we prayerfully take that time, He will show us.

For example, I homeschooled my kids for several years, but once they went to public school, I made it my goal to always be home when they arrived at the end of the day. I wanted to be available to welcome them home and hear how their days went. Though it wasn’t my main reason for doing so, this practice demonstrated God’s constant availability to His children.

So what about you? I encourage you to take a few moments and consider the specific, practical ways you show God’s heart to your kids.

Then please share with us. What you share might offer encouragement to some discouraged mom, allow us to celebrate God’s goodness in you, and maybe even cause you to rejoice at the realization of God’s life in you.

Leave a Reply

