The Importance of Being an Earnest Learner

Do you ever have dreams (maybe nightmares) that you are back in school? It is my most common dream. In these dreams I’m always out of place because I know I’m way too old for school, and I can’t quite figure out the new setting. I’m sort of like, “Why am I here? I already finished school!” Gratefully, the other students never even notice me.

I’m always a bit curious about dreams, wondering what past issue my brain is trying to work through. I don’t know what it is about school for me. Maybe deep inside I know there’s always things to learn – and sometimes the learning is hard. I just want to have graduated already with everything all figured out.

Recently, however, my school dreams feel a little bit better. I know it’s going to be hard work, but I’m somewhat happy to be there. That’s where I am in life right now. I’m not going to an actual school but I am in some online writers’ groups, learning how to build a writing career. Oh my goodness, is there a ton to learn or what? I am seriously overwhelmed and can’t keep up with all my “assignments.” I most certainly feel way too old for this.

A photo by Alejandro Escamilla. unsplash.com/photos/xII7efH1G6o

But you know what? Learning is essential for our wellbeing.

My dear mother-in-law turns 83 this month. She battles cerebella ataxia – the hardening of the arteries in her cerebellum. It is starting to effect her memory. She gets very discouraged by this. When we asked our functional wellness doctor things she can do to help, he said, “Learn new things.” He suggested taking community classes, reading books on new topics, learn how to use new technology, or learn to work new types of puzzles.

Our brain is a muscle. You have to use it or lose it – grow it or throw it. One of the greatest privileges of life is the opportunity to learn new things and grow in new ways. Let’s not waste it.

A photo by JOHN TOWNER. unsplash.com/photos/sSkElz_pb3Q

Even though my kids are all well into adulthood, I’m still learn about parenting. There are tools and techniques to aid us SAFE parents, even when our children are grown. Lessons from the past can also be used with our grandchildren. I am convinced I can still become a better mom.

I think my favorite thing about the Christian faith is the opportunity to always be growing. None of us have arrived yet. How boring. There’s always new things to learn.

What are you learning right now? “Let the wise listen and add to their learning” (Proverbs 1:5, NIV).

I’m relearning about dangling participles – since my husband has to point them out rather frequently as he edits my work. I’m learning to get an earlier start to my day – which begins with getting to bed earlier at night. I’m learning to listen to others – and keep my two cents tucked inside my mind’s pocket. I’m learning all sorts of great truths as I write these pearls of insight from God’s words.

So here’s my challenge for you: be a student of something. Learn. Grow. And share.

What is something you’ve recently learned by accident?
Share it here.

What is something you’ve recently relearned?
Maybe the rest of us need the reminder, too.

What is something you’d like to learn?
Intentionally pursue it. Start something – anything – new.

We all should be somewhere in a learning journey. How exciting it would be to read about where you are in your own journey.

If you can’t think of anything, this might be a place to start:

“The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding” (Proverbs 9:10, NIV).

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work” (1 Timothy 3:16-17, NIV).

©Cheri Johnson September 2016

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Being an Earnest Learner

  1. I am in the process of writing a blog very similar about starting school, school supplies and September start-overs. Great minds…
    I enjoyed your writing! Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

