Fullness for a Heart Drained Empty

cropped-write-31-days-cover.pngI felt like they had drilled holes into the bottoms of my feet and drained out every ounce of my soul. Ignoring my depletion, they reached inside of me and with talon-sharp fingers scraped out every bit of remaining vestige. Not only did I feel like I had totally lost me, I felt the shell of me was left shredded and raw.

Bleeding and empty.

Have you been there? You know that same feeling as an empty stomach screaming with hunger pangs, longing to be filled with soothing chicken and noodles … or shepherd’s pie … or slightly spicy chili? Could someone please point you to the soup kitchen? Can someone please fill you again with purpose and beauty? Is there anyone who could hand you a warm cup of comfort and hope?

oct-1-fulness-for-the-heart-emptied-coffee

I offer something even better.

You see, it’s only when we’re emptied of ourselves that we can be filled with God. It’s only when we come to the end of our best efforts that we get to see God’s miracles. It’s only in our weakness that we get to experience the glory of His strength.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me (2 Corinthians 12:9, NIV).

Some of us are pretty darn capable. After all, no social service agency would have chosen us to foster or adopt, if we weren’t among the strongest. We can endure more than most. We can go the distance. And so God may have to take us a long, long way to get to the end of ourselves—to the point where He’s all we’ve got left.

And you know what?

He’s more than enough.

So as you sit there—your cup empty, your heart screaming in hunger, your personhood siphoned into a black hole—close your eyes, lift your hands, open wide your heart and allow the Lord to pour Himself in.

oct-1-empty-of-self-meme

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, For they shall be filled
(Matthew 5:6, NKJV).

For I satisfy the weary ones and refresh everyone who languishes (Jeremiah 31:25, NASB).

O God, You are my God; I shall seek You earnestly; My soul thirsts for You, my flesh yearns for You, In a dry and weary land where there is no water. Thus I have seen You in the sanctuary, To see Your power and Your glory. Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, My lips will praise You (Psalm 63:1-5, NASB).

3 thoughts on “Fullness for a Heart Drained Empty

  1. Wow, Cheri, that was exactly what I needed to hear right now. You’re right – the agency wouldn’t have approved us if they didn’t think we were capable of parenting an adopted child. They know that adopted children often do have extra challenges for parents, even if they are apparently normal, healthy newborns. God has taken me through the fire many times in many ways and I have come out with more faith and trust in him and less dependence on myself each time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

