Truth for a Heart Tricked by Lies

cropped-write-31-days-cover.png

If I’m loving enough, my children will trust me. If I’m consistent enough, my kids will obey me. But my kids don’t trust me and they often misbehave, so I must not be the right mom for these kids.

If I get up early enough, I’ll get all my work done. If I seek God enough, He’ll give me the answers I need. But my work is never done, so I must not be disciplined enough. And I can’t hear God’s answers, so He must be unhappy with me.

Life is horrible. I’m a failure. God has abandoned me.

These are some of the lies my heart believed. And at times my heart convinced my head, too—blurring my picture of God and distorting my sense of reality.

coffee-and-books

How do you know when you’re being lied to?

When you start believing you’re the wrong mom for the job.

When you begin to suspect God is the bad guy.

When you see your children as your enemy.

When you feel trapped in inescapable misery.

When hope can’t be seen, even on the most distant horizon.

That’s when the Father of lies has messed with you a bit too much.

That’s when it’s time to tell him to “Shut up!” And that’s when it’s time to start speaking the truth—out loud. For every lie that assails at your heart, there is a scripture verse to divert it.

Here are just a few:

And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that always having all sufficiency in everything, you may have an abundance for every good deed. (1 Corinthians 9:8, NASB)

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. (Ephesians 6:12, NKJV)

When the enemy comes in like a flood, The Spirit of the Lord will lift up a standard against him. (Isaiah 59:19, NKJV)

Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him. (James 1:12, NIV)

Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. (Galatians 6:9, NASB)

In fact, when I’ve struggled the most, I learned to not just look at God’s promises; I learned to look at God Himself.

oct-18-combat-lies

Who is this God who has called us to such parenting struggles? A God who sympathizes with our frustrations and weaknesses.

The LORD regretted that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was deeply troubled. (Genesis 6:6, NIV)

Just as a father has compassion on his children, So the Lord has compassion on those who fear Him. For He Himself knows our frame; He is mindful that we are but dust. (Psalm 103:13-14, NASB)

He is our refuge.

For You have been a refuge for me, A tower of strength against the enemy. Psalm 61:3 (NASB)

His love for us is infinite.

I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness. (Jeremiah 31:3, NIV)

He is patient with us.

The Lord, the Lord God, compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, and abounding in lovingkindness and truth. (Exodus 34:6, NASB)

He will never abandon us.

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. (Deuteronomy 31:8, NIV)

Because of God, we do not need to be afraid or discouraged. It’s God who has called us; God who enables us; God who accomplish His purposes for us, and for our children. Our hope? It’s in the Person of God.

In fact, the truth we need to combat the lies hurled at our souls is the One who called Himself the Way, the Truth, and the Life (John 14:6).

So what lies are you believing today? How about setting your focus on the Truth that dissolves those lies?

3 thoughts on “Truth for a Heart Tricked by Lies

Leave a Reply

